Board of Directors

2023-2025 Board of Directors

The new term for the president and the board of directors is July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2025. All are volunteers and serve without compensation.


Ginet U. Hayes, Oahu
Section Administrator
State Dept. of Human Services
Benefit, Employment and Support Services Division


Vice President

Jon A. Gasper, Oahu
Clerk V
State Dept. of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
Professional & Vocational Licensing Division



Sandra "Sandy" Moses, Hawaii
Account Clerk IV
State Dept. of Public Safety
Hawaii Community Correctional Center



Bennett T. Yap, Oahu
IT Manager
State Dept. of Labor and Industrial Relations




Oahu Director-at-Large

Helen H. Hamada, Oahu
Graphic Designer
University of Hawaii
Kapiolani Community College



Kauai Director-at-Large

Russell K. Wellington, Kauai
Recreation Coordinator II
Kauai Dept. of Parks & Recreation
Recreation Division



Maui Director-at-Large

Cameron J. Dexter, Maui
Social Worker IV
Maui Drug Court



Retirees Unit President 

Ethel L. Fleming, Oahu
Retirees Unit
State President




Unit 2 Director

Jason R. Locke, Oahu
Custodian IV
State Dept. of Education



Unit 3 Directors

Helena B. R. Brown, Maui
Educational Assistant III
State Dept. of Education



Ebony V. Butihi, Maui
Documentation Specialist
State Dept. of Land and Natural Resources
Land Division
Ryvette G. Figueroa, Maui
Commission Support Clerk
Maui Dept. of Finance
Real Property Assessments Division
Vernon L. Verzon, Oahu
Educational Assistant III
State Dept. of Education

Unit 4 Director

Leila Kim, Kauai
Staff Services Supervisor
Kauai Dept. of Planning



Unit 6 Director

James L. Sunday, Oahu
State Dept. of Education
Radford High School



Unit 8 Director

Jaret K. C. Leong, Oahu
University of Hawaii-Manoa
Manoa Academy and Academic Pathways



Unit 9 Director

Josette K. Kawana, Oahu
Registered Nurse
State Dept. of Health
Hawaii State Hospital



Unit 13 Directors

Joycelyn "Jolly" Iwata, Kauai
Administrative Specialist IV
State Dept. of Health
Adult Mental Health Division



Cheryl Pokipala, Maui
Case Manager
State Dept. of Health
Adult Mental Health Division

Unit 14 Director

Charles R. Among Jr., Oahu
Deputy Sheriff II
State Dept. of Public Safety
Sheriff Division



Unit 15 Director

Jonah I. Romero, Maui
Ocean Safety Officer III, Lieutenant
Maui Dept. of Fire and Public Safety
Ocean Safety Bureau